Department of Political Science


Department of Political Science

The Department started as a Social Science Department in the year1948 and was later renamed Department of Political Science in the year 1955.It started with a degree course and was allocated a post graduate course after two years.. The Department has also the rare and unique privilege of starting the first PG courses in political science in the state. The Department soon achieved prominence and has developed as one of the most prestigious teaching departments in the state. First PG batch consisted of 12 students including 6 girls. Most of the students who topped have graced the academic profession. Some of these distinguished students became Professors and Head of the Department of various Universities and colleges in different parts of the state. The Department got elevated to Research Department in the year 1997 .Department offers BA and M A and Ph.D. Programmes in political science and a wide range of new areas like Human rights, public policy, Gender Politics, New Social Movements, Environment Development and Politics and foreign policy.

The department organized several national and international seminars/ conferences on diverse areas of political science. Moreover, the faculty members have attended and presented papers in national and international levels. More than 15 Research supervisors served in the Department. They encourage wide variety of areas on Research to Promote and develop core areas like Human rights, Foreign policy, Decentralized Governance , Rural development , Women Empowerment, International politics etc.. Of political science and inter-disciplinary subjects.


  • Dr.P.C. Alexander-Former Governor of Maharashtra & Member, Rajya Sabha
  • Prof K.J.Mathew Tharakan (late), Chairman, Industrialization Committee Government of Kerala, Chairman, Coir Minimum Wages Committee, Govt of Kerala

  • Dr.M.Sreenivasan, Member, Syndicate, University of Kerala Member, Syndicate, M.G.University, Kottayam, Member, Kerala State Education Advisory Board, Member, UGC Steering Committee on COHSIP and COSIP, Member, UGS Standing Committee for the Development of Colleges, Member, Banking Service Recruitment Board

  • Dr.R.Jayaprakash, Member of the executive council: Kerala State Higher Education Council, Member of Syndicate: University of Kerala, Member of Syndicate: Sree Sankaracharya University of Sanskrit, Kaladi, Member/Member Co-ordinator NAAC Peer Team from 2004-2019, Member-UGC Expert Committee for conferring Autonomous College, Former Principal, SN College, Kollam (2004-2005)

  • Dr.C.S.Sathyapalan, Registrar, Cochin University of Sciences and Technology
  • Prof.S.K. Raja Gopal, Registrar, University of Kerala, Pro-Vice Chancellor
  • Dr.N.K.Bhaskaran, Professor and Head, Department of Political Science, University of Kerala

  • Prof.V.V.Mani, DCDC, University of Kerala & PRO, University of Kerala

  • Prof. N. Rajan, Velliyam, Member, Syndicate, University of Kerala, Deputy. Mayor, Kollam Municipal Corporation

  • Prof Dr. K. Jayaprasad, Pro Vice Chancellor, Central University of Kerala, Kasaragod

  • Prof. Dr.M.R.Biju, Head of the Department of Public Administration, Central University of Kerala, Kasaragod

  • Prof. Suresh.R, Head of the Department of Political Science, University of Kerala, Kariavattom


  • Shri Kadavoor Sivadasan – Minister for Electricity, Government of Kerala
  • Shri G.Karthikeyan- Minister for Food, Culture and Devaswoms

  • Shri M.A.Baby-Minister for Education, Ex. Member, Rajya Sabha (Two terms) member, CPI (M) Central Committee

  • Shri R.S.Unni- late) Former Minister, Govt.of Kerala Deputy Speaker, Kerala Legislative Assembly

  • Shri Veliyam Bhargavan-Ex. MLA Secretary CPI State Committee

  • Shri R.Govindan -Ex.MLA

  • Shri B.Raghavan -Ex MLA (Twice) Ex Chairman, Kerala SC/ST Development Corporation.

  • Mrs.J.Mercykutty Amma-Minister for Fisheries and Traditional Industry

  • Mrs. Bhargavi Thankappan- Ex.MP (Twice), Ex.MLA (Twice), Formerly Deputy Speaker

  • Shri P.Rajendran- Ex-M.P

  • Shri Thengamom Balakrishnan-Ex-M.L.A

  • Shri Prathapvarma Thampan-Ex-MLA

  • Shri Kottara Gopalakrishnan-Ex-MLA


  • Shri J.Alexander- Former Chief Secretary, Govt.of Karnataka
  • Shri S.Madhu- Secretary Govt.of Karnataka

  • P.Arjunan- Director, DPEP, Kerala


  • Shri Abdul Sathar Kunju- Former DGP, Kerala
  • Shri T.P.Gopinathan- Former DGP, Kerala

  • Shri D.Vijayan –IG of Police

Programs Offered

  • PhD

  • Certifcate Programmes :

    • Certificate Course on Indian Constitution
    • Certificate Course on Indian Government and Politics
    • Certificate course on Human Rights in India

Department of Political Science